top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKELLY SHEEHAN

Bilbao Bae

Bilbao Bae

BY: KELLY SHEEHAN

August 14, 2017


From Seville we flew to Bilbao. I chose Bilbao because I wanted to visit basque country Spain to see what the culture is like in all parts of the country. I didn't realize how large the language barrier would actually be in Bilbao. I assumed that everyone would speak Basque and Spanish. That was not the case.


In Bilbao everyone only speaks Basque, this caused a huge difficulty for us since Basque isn't anything like Spanish or English. It is actually comparable to Russian.


Alas, I learned the basic words I needed to know;

Hello- Kaixo

Thank you- Eskerrik asko

How much does it cost? - Zenbat balio du?

Where is the beach?- Non dago hondartza



We only spent four days in Bilbao, and I wanted to spend them at the beach and the Guggenheim. We took the metro to Sopelana and then walked about a mile to the beach. This beach was one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen in my life. We had to hike down a steep mountainside that I would compare to the Bluffs in Block Island for anyone that has been there before. The waves were filled with surfers and when you looked out to the water it reminded me of the Greek Islands I went to when I was young.


To say the least, I did not want to leave.

3 views0 comments

Kommentarer


bottom of page