top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKELLY SHEEHAN

Chaos Within

Updated: Jan 24, 2019



Turmoil in all the news surrounding me, focused on different immigrants in every country has had me reflecting upon what it really feels like to be an immigrant. How difficult it is to move to another country.


Myself, and almost every other citizen of the United States comes from a family of immigrants. Right now, I am remembering, praising, and relating to all my relatives that did everything they could to give their families a better life with more opportunities in the United States. And now I am in the midst of chaos in a foreign country. Observing intensified sexism and racism up-close, for really the first time in my life.


My prosaic life in Quito, it is no secret that I stick out like a sore thumb here, clearly American. The reputation that comes along with my appearance here is all that which falls under the name “gringa”. Which is; a white woman who is noisy, offensive, a walking wallet, entitled, and hardly has any cognizance of cultural norms. However, with all the negative connotation that this name bears, simply put it is people pointing out a privilege that I have because of my appearance, and where I was born.


To say the least, shits crazy in the Americas right now.


I can feel the sexism and racism floating in the air as I walk to class everyday. I’ve listened to my friends cry because they are not safe in the country they call their home. There were two women’s marches this last Sunday and Monday near my house. Where women were protesting the recent attacks against Martha and Diana. The fact that I can’t walk five blocks without hearing someone yell gross catcalls to me such as, “quiero embarazarte”, or have a man grab me, is the most minuscule part of feminism here. Not speaking of what is currently unfolding around us is not how to promote the standards a global citizen nor a humanitarian organization should stand for. We should fight, or at least use our voices.


The primary race in Ecuador is mestizo(mix of Spanish and native), followed by a small percentage of whites, amerindian(indigenous people of Ecuador), montubio(mestizo Ecuadorians from the countryside and coastal area), and afro-ecuadorian. There is also a very large Venezuelan population here, that is still growing with the continuing crisis in Venezuela. To whom, a large amount of the racism is aimed.


What I have realized is that while my life here is filled with new challenges, they are not that different from the States. Racism and sexism are extremely prevalent back home as well. When I say racism in Ecuador is similar to that in the United States, I use the analogy of people in the U.S. falsely claiming “latinos are stealing our jobs and committing crimes”. Ecuadorians are saying the same about Venezuelans. Which simply, is not correct. To all my friends in the United States, building a wall will not solve any problems. The U.S. was built by immigrants.


Immigrants are the fortitude of the U.S. economy. Immigration is the only thing that is allowing the population in the U.S. to grow, which anyone with a basic understanding of economics would know that means; immigrants make it possible for wages to go up, for companies to expand nationally and internationally, for the value of the currency to grow, and for the economy to not crash.


As I sit here, volunteering in a foreign country, which many of you may imagine as a romantic vacation, filled with partying and amazing new experiences. Know, that as that may be the case for others, for me it is not. Don’t build a wall, build bridges. That means for all of us to do what we can to show that we do believe in equal rights for all people. For me, I intend to show that not all Americans are gringos partying their way through Latin America. And demonstrate that I believe all people no matter their sex, race, or class deserve to have the same basic human rights.


While writing: Bellyache by Billie Eilish

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gBRi6aZJGj4

90 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page