top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKELLY SHEEHAN

Después de regresar a Quito: An Ode to Emma

Updated: May 19, 2019

Después de regresar a Quito: An Ode to Emma



After going home for the holidays and absorbing all the love from my friends and family, I was ready to return to Quito. Although sad to leave the comfort of my own home and return to a place where I was consumed by culture shock.


It’s hard to move somewhere solamente, and try to find your nueva familia. Nonetheless, I definitely lucked out and made some of the most amazing friends here. After orientation I clicked with another girl who is also from Connecticut, and we ended up becoming roommates. It wasn’t long until we became attached at the hip, and even shorter for us to laugh when Quiteños said we looked like twins(we do not). Despite the fact that our landlord still cannot tell us apart.



It’s a hard lesson to learn that cuando no puedes estar con los que amas, ama con quien estés, but so incredibly worth it. We have this innate ability to bond with people and create a family wherever we go, our own community.


A best girlfriend is more than a friend. She’s a chismosa, an adventure buddy, breakfast lunch dinner and chiva date, compañera de baile, gemela, proofreader, listener, teacher, and sister.


This is my ode to Emma.

Oda a Emmalina, if you will.


Though we’re in Quito’s mountains

And home is at Connecticut’s sea,

These places don't mean as much

As your friendship means to me.

35 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page