top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKELLY SHEEHAN

El Greco en Toledo Otra Vez

El Greco en Toledo Otra Vez

By: KELLY SHEEHAN

August 28, 2017



When I went to Toledo I was reminiscing my high school AP Art History Class and everything we learned about the artist, El Greco. I felt a cultural connection to him because he was a Greek that traveled to and resided in Spain. He left his mark internationally.


Domenikos Theotokopoulos was a Greek artist most well known for his artwork completed in Toledo, Spain when he became known as El Greco (the Greek). His renaissance style paintings fit perfectly in this medieval town near Madrid.


Ofcourse, when I went to Toledo, I had to create some pun about El Greco returning to Toledo. During my time in Toledo I admired his works, the mini replica of the mosque of Cordoba, and most of all really loved that while walking on the cobblestone streets of Toledo, it feels as if you have gone back in time. There are artists on the street outside of the churches, streets filled with little sword shops and the largest chocolate sculpture of Don Quixote in the world.


Toledo is beautiful, and I strongly recommend anyone in Madrid take a day trip there.



7 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page