top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKELLY SHEEHAN

First Post Home

First Post Home

By: KELLY SHEEHAN

September 28, 2017


For anyone that has been subscribed to my blog and reads all my posts, please send me a message and tell me what you would like to read more about. And also, why are you at all interested in my blog? I have never thought of myself as a very good writer...

That being said, this will be my first post since coming home from Europe over the summer. I have been kind of bad recently, and my blog really turned into a travel blog, with each post about a different city or country.



Since coming back from Europe, I haven't been as inspired to write about my feelings or the things I have done since it seems “normal” to me. I live in Old Saybrook, CT. my boyfriend, Kam lives in Fairfield. I have been going back and forth a lot between our houses and looking for more things to do when neither of us have to work.

Now that we’re home, we’re broke.


Also, I don't want anyone to think that I think I am Carrie from Sex and the City, when I talk about my relationship on my blog, but our relationship has totally changed. When you travel with a partner, they are like your lifeline, your connection home, and your best friend. Now that we're home and not having all of these new experiences and adventures every day, it has been kind of difficult. Also, we work opposite shifts. For example, I am a waitress so I mainly work after 5 for the dinner shift. Whereas, Kam picks up odd jobs usually with friends landscaping. So he works until 5.


I guess maybe that makes me Miranda(if we’re still talking about Sex and the City).

But all jokes aside it has been hard for me to get back into the swing of things and realise that even after an amazing adventure. Home still exists. And nothing has really changed. All the responsibilities I have were really just put on hold for a few months.

We came up with this new hobby. Whenever we are looking for something to do we drive through the beach neighborhoods and go to the open houses on the water, and let me tell you.


These houses are beautiful.


I'm not sure if that is a weird activity for two twenty two year olds. It’s not like we are seriously looking at the houses. More so just perusing of what life could be like, or better yet, is like for people we watched at the open houses.


Maybe it’s my escape back to lalaland. Going to open houses gives me the same excitement as going on a trip. A foreshadowing of what could be.

12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page