top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKELLY SHEEHAN

Granada, Cordoba, & Seville

Granada, Cordoba, & Seville

By: KELLY SHEEHAN

September 1, 2017



Recently, my blog posts have been about different cities I traveled to and the feelings they ignited in me. This one as well is going to be reflecting upon my time in Granada, Cordoba, and Seville.


Granada, is absolutely amazing. First of all, I have never seen as many beautiful people as the gypsies dancing Flamenco on the mountainside at night. Our hostel was situated below Alhambra in a way that we had the most perfect view of Sierra Nevada and were just far enough away from downtown to be able to walk to get sangria and tapas at night. Of all the amazing tapas, I probably had more gazpacho than man is meant to consume in a few weeks. I think I had gazpacho every day, sometimes multiple times a day.


Our first day in Granada we went on one of those free tours around the city, then got some ideas of what to do the next few days. My favorite part of Granada other than the Flamenco, has to be that all the restaurants give you free tapas with each drink, and we definitely drank. Not to mention the incredible gazpacho I had as an afternoon/pre siesta snack.



At each hostel that we stayed at we made friends, and Granada was no different. We met some amazing people about the same age as us who were travelling alone who really emphasized what I had already learned in the beginning of my trip.

Again, I think it is great to travel alone if you can. But is happiness real if not shared with others?


We went to the mosque of Cordoba on our way to Seville. It was just an afternoon trip, which I would advise for anyone planning a similar trip, because there really is not much to do in Cordoba other than a bit of window shopping(eat gazpacho) and the see the mosque.


I had a unique experience at the mosque of Cordoba because I was with Kamran. I grew up Greek Orthodox, and he grew up Muslim. For those of you who don't know, the mosque of Cordoba was forcibly converted into a Catholic Cathedral and is now a museum. So while I was in awe of the amazing architecture, Kamran had this feeling of shame. That something that was once Muslim had been ruined.


This was a perspective I would never have even thought about if he wasn't with me and something that i really began to appreciate. The ever changing history of these Spanish cities and people is really amazing.


We continued onto Seville which is one of the few places that bullfighting is still legal in Spain. If that is something you would want to see I would recommend Seville, where the bullfighting champion and his family own a restaurant that after a won battle all the customers indulge in the defeated bull.


Southern Spain was absolutely amazing and had a very Mediterranean/Moroccan esque feel that was fun, delicious and inviting.



3 views0 comments

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page