top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKELLY SHEEHAN

La Pura Vida en Costa Rica

La Pura Vida en Costa Rica

By: KELLY SHEEHAN

July 5, 2018


On May 16th, Ben and I went to Costa Rica to celebrate and visit my friend Jeremy who had been in Central America for six months. I booked our flights to San Jose to meet up with Jeremy at this luxury hostel. Then the next day we made our way to Puerto Viejo, Limon.




In Puerto Viejo, Ben and I stayed at the Walaba hostel which I really fell in love with. It was across the street from a more private beach, and just a bike ride away from downtown.


Jeremy stayed at a hostel called Rocking Js, which was a party place. The entire hostel was a work of art. Covered with elaborate mosaics, bright colors, and paintings. There was a party or gathering there every night. Rocking js had a great location, right outside of the businesses in Puerto Viejo and nestled on the beach under the trees.



If you are new to my blog I want to make sure it is clear that my life isn’t some fairy tale that I post about in a blog. Even on vacation there are bad days. One of my best friends asked me when I got back “you’re in paradise, with someone you love, how is it even possible to get into a fight?” I didn’t have an answer for her, but now that I’ve thought about it I can say that relationships and friendships are hard work. Timing is not always easy, and just because you’re physically in paradise doesn’t mean your relationship is.


That being said, I don’t want to take away from the absolutely amazing time I had in Puerto Viejo. Or how great my boyfriend is. The hostel we stayed at was a little bit closer to Punta Uva. Situated in the jungle and it felt like a tree house with the overgrown branches, and wild animals right outside your window.



I really enjoy planning trips, so one day we spent relaxing drinking and swimming at the beach. Well, we really did this every day. It was almost unbearable to do anything around 12 other than swim at the beach. We also spent a day at a chocolate plantation, and one at the jaguar rescue center. And at night it would get dark around 6, but that didn’t stop us from engulfing in some great Caribbean food or reggaeton!


On the third day I learned the noise waking me up at six in the morning wasn’t birds, but monkeys howling. This was also the first day that I saw a sloth and was so overwhelmed with joy from their cuteness. We spent one day at the jaguar rescue center where I got to see as many sloths and baby sloths as my big heart could possibly desire.

Costa Rica was an absolutely beautiful country. I would love to go back when I have some more time to explore other regions of the country, and will probably return to Puerto Viejo and Punta Uva.




48 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page