top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKELLY SHEEHAN

Madrid y Mi Amor

Madrid y Mi Amor

By: KELLY SHEEHAN

July 10, 2017




When I made it to Madrid I was excited for the wrong reason. I was ready for my class to be over and finally have some alone time when they all returned to the States.I hadn't really done much research on the city, and didn't know what I would want to see or where I would want to go. In my mind there was no way there could be a second city in Spain almost comparable to Barcelona. I was happily surprised with how much I enjoyed my time in Madrid. My class took a tour of the city, went to St. Miguel’s Market, ate bocadillos, and took a day trip to Toledo.


While we had down time I started making my plans for after my group left me. I realized Madrid has its own culture as well, and that there were some really amazing things here. I wanted to go to Retiro Park, and go window shopping downtown.


When my class left I got a surprising call from Kam(who at the time we weren’t together) he told me he decided he was going to come to Spain and would be landing in Madrid, my time 11 AM. So, I figured out how to meet him at the airport and was excited to finally have a friend to explore with. Somewhere in the bliss of travelling we became more than friends again.


The first thing I wanted to do was show him all around Madrid, see the palace, chocolateria, have some traditional churros and then end the night sipping Clara at a cool bar. I was so excited.


The second day we began to follow the itinerary I had made for myself and we went to Retiro Park. This park was so beautiful. You could easily spend all of your time here. There are people everywhere, music, boats in the large pond filled with fish and row boats.


And as I began to fall for Madrid, I felt myself falling for Kam too. We were having so much fun travelling together. It was as if all other people in the world were on show for us, to observe and learn, to watch and see what the world is really about.


Madrid will always hold a special place in my heart because it brought us together again, and taught me so much about myself. That I am totally able to do everything that scares me alone, but it’s so much better with someone that you love.



7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page