top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKELLY SHEEHAN

My Last Post About SCOTLAND

My Last Post About SCOTLAND

By: KELLY SHEEHAN

September 21, 2017


This will be my last post about my trip in SCOTLAND.



Our last day in Scotland, i had recuperated from the owl attack and we had plans to hike up Arthur's Seat. To be honest, I was really excited to go for a hike, since we hadn't gone for a hike since the Camino.



We start trekking our way to the base of the path and basically follow the crowds.

About halfway up the face of the mountain, my leg was throbbing. So I pulled up my leggings and there were some small scratches. However, these were not just small scratches. My veins started to protrude from my legs like an old man's hands, and my leg was turning purple.



After a while my whole leg went numb. But, we were already half way up Arthur’s Seat and I knew that if we didn't hike to the top now, I never would. We kept walking and I tried to just distract myself from the pain with the views of the city. And reminded myself that as soon as we got back in town we would go to a pharmacy.


The hike was not too strenuous, actually kind of easy. There were definitely some places I would advise adding a handrail or maybe something on the rocks to make them less slippery since there are so many elderly people and children that often hike here.



As soon as we made it to the dial to take a Instagram perfect picture, it started to snow. Then hail. Then rain. I freaked out because the path was slippery when dry on the way up, and I really didn't want anything to go wrong. So we quickly, but carefully made our way down and to the nearest pharmacy for some ibuprofen.




The pharmacist told me that like everyone else in the world, I am allergic to SCOTLAND’s national flower. This purple thistle. SCOTLAND, please explain to me why that would be your national flower.


Alas, that is the end of my stories from SCOTLAND.

3 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page