top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKELLY SHEEHAN

On the Camino

On the Camino

By: KELLY SHEEHAN

August 21, 2017


The Camino de Santiago is a Christian pilgrimage that the original way starts in Saint Johns France spanning about 700 miles to Compostela Santiago and an additional 60 miles to the water.


For anyone that is interested in the Camino, I would encourage you to walk, even if you will be alone because there are so many people walking the path that you will be surrounded all day with people doing the exact same thing as you. The towns are also very catering to the way because the pilgrims bring in so much business that there will always be a place for you to eat and sleep. I also would encourage anyone of any religion to walk the Camino, because although I did grow up Greek Orthodox, religion was not a huge part of the trail for me. The Camino can be whatever you want it to be, the Camino to me was, for me.




We trekked 100 miles of the Camino de Santiago, starting just east of Sarria, Spain the 100km mark. For five days we walked about twenty miles a day to Compostela Santiago. Each day was amazing. I loved waking up and having nothing to think about, plan, or do, other than to walk. To walk and to reflect on my own thoughts and surroundings. There were days that we were walking through vineyards and you would smell grapes for miles, or the woods and the relaxing scent of eucalyptus would linger for the whole day. One of my favorite plants was all of the cherry trees which were the perfect snack on a hot day.


I was not doing this walk for religious reasons. I was mainly walking for time to myself for my thoughts and to see the country in a way that people and perhaps my ancestors have seen Spain for centuries. And even though we were not walking for religious reasons, this was easily one of the most enlightening things I have ever done in my life.

Each afternoon that we got to a new town we would settle in the albergue, take a shower, wash our clothes, make some friends that were sharing our room and go out to town with them, or meet up with people we had met on the trail and made plans with earlier in the day.



One thing that made this walk extremely entertaining was that every town had its own delicacies. For example, Portomarin was known for the eel, and another town was famous for their pulpo. This was one of the things that motivated me to keep walking every day, was the excitement of trying the new infamous food in the next town. And ofcourse starting with a cold glass of Clara and bowl of Gazpacho.


The other thing about the camino that I realized while walking was that I was one of the youngest people on the trail(22). Most people walking were middle aged. There were some people in their late thirties and some in the seventies, but we didn't meet anyone in their twenties or younger. That being said, the hike can be as rigorous as you desire. The terrain is mountainous, so there were a few days that we only walked 15 miles, but were more sore than others because we were walking up hill almost all day. We also did not train at all. I have always been in great shape for walking so this wasn't very difficult for me, but carrying my pack was. Luckily, on our third day when my shoulders and waist were bruised from my pack, we learned about a carrier service that was only like 2 euros, $4 to send your pack to the next albergue, which I ended up doing the rest of the way, only carrying a small backpack with a camel back and a few medical supplies for just in case. This was a life saver and another aid that could really help pilgrims that aren't in the best shape for walking the Camino.





One day I want to go back and complete the original Camino starting in Saint Johns all the way to the shore of the Atlantic ocean. Then after that I would like to walk all of the other paths, for instance you could walk from Portugal to Compostela Santiago and other parts of Europe as well.


In my head, when my godsons are either eighteen or older, I envision myself wealthy enough to be able to take off at least two weeks and take them to Sarria to walk the last 100 km with me. Because although I am not the most religious person, I do believe that there is a higher power, that this walk was enlightening, and that I did learn about myself while walking the way and want to share that with as many people as I can.



3 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page